Mercy Ties - Proper Corruption GKR035

• All physical purchases come with a digital download of album.
• Digital downloads available immediately after checkout.

The cover of the new Mercy Ties record is a lie. It shows the solemn aftermath of the Mount St. Helens eruption, the placid, soot-strewn roads and abandoned vehicles. It does nothing to prepare you for the savage, incendiary assault of Proper Corruption.

Recorded with Scott Evans (Kowloon Walled City, Puig Destroyer, Thou) and mastered by Brad Boatright (Nails, Yob, Old Man Gloom) the punk fuckedness of the Seattle band’s debut EP, A Dim Lit Place, has been sharpened and grown more ugly. Now as a five-piece, they’ve channeled the venom of their live shows into these ten tracks.

In a little over 20 minutes the band uses d-beat, grindcore, sludge and vertigo-inducing mathrock to create something oppressive and relentless with only moments of relief, brief passages of unnerving quiet before another convulsion.

Featuring ex-members of Tigon, The Abominable Iron Sloth and Beau Navire, Mercy Ties is now operating at the height of their abilities, crafting music that effortlessly tears through genres to create something unique and venomous. So maybe the album cover isn’t a lie, but a warning of what to expect after Proper Corruption’s final note.

– Shane Mehling, Decibel Magazine

I go out of my way to see Mercy Ties whenever I can, but usually at the end of their set I’m too exhausted to see the headliner (this is why you put the local band last on a three band bill, club owners). – Invisible Oranges

Mercy Ties have crafted a piece that is equally vicious as it is nuanced, a powerful step in the right direction. – Exclaim

After listening to Proper Corruption on repeat it is safe to say devastation is an appropriate scene to incorporate into Mercy Ties’ artwork. Devastation is, most likely, the feeling the listener will be left with upon hearing these 10 killer tracks. – Bearded Gentlemen Music

Track Listing

  1. You Have The Right To Remain Violent
  2. Analysis Of A Smile
  3. Now Is The Time For Making New Enemies
  4. Thinking Through Our Fingers
  5. Fuck Your Male Sexual Entitlement
  6. The Lowest Animal
  7. Poetics Of Despair
  8. Stifling Progress
  9. Life Is Worth Losing
  10. Proper Corruption

Pressing Information

10 Test pressings
100 on Transparent Red vinyl
400 on Opaque Black vinyl.
100 on Opaque Red cassettes (Colossus Tapes, Berlin)

Related Products

  • At The Heart Of The World - Rotting Forms

    At The Heart Of The World - Rotting Forms

  • Posthumous Loves

    Posthumous Loves

  • Slumberbox - Self Titled EP

    Slumberbox - Self Titled EP

  • Mossbreaker - Between the Noise and You LP

    Mossbreaker - Between the Noise and You LP

  • Reservoir - Mirage Sower LP

    Reservoir - Mirage Sower LP

  • Crow Killer - Becoming an Object of Fear

    Crow Killer - Becoming an Object of Fear